Tarawera Property Management

Book Your Stay
Listing
Arrival
Departure
Promo code
Flexible Dates
 
Home >>Testimonials >> Glamping Hut

Glamping Hut

September 2021

Birdwatchers dream! From the deck we saw so many bird species! Tui, Piwakawaka, Kereru, Touhau, Manu pango, Rosellas, but the coolest was the Ruru flying in through the deck chasing a moth, land on a fence post and giving us the morepork call! The view over the lake was beautiful! As for the accommodation, it was everything we needed, bed was comfortable and hut warm, as we had a couple quite cold days, all the other amenities were in there own areas, but this worked really well. If I had to describe in a few words, “next level glamping “! All communication was clear, didn’t meet Angela, but Dave was very welcoming, helpful and made sure we had everything we needed, like wood for the outdoor bath, which stays warm overnight for a sunrise dip. Thanks so much to Angela & Dave, your place is amazing!

Steve

 

August 2021

We loved our few days at Jack’s Hut. Angela and Dave were so lovely and there was lots of nice touches, including some treats for s’more making and some lovely breakfast things. The shower was nice and hot, the bed super cozy and comfortable and the outdoor bath was amazing! Everything was clean and the location was close to a reserve where our dog could run around and swim. Overall a fantastic stay and definitely an amazing spot!

Amber, Auckland NZ

 

August 2021

Very cute little hut with an amazing view. We enjoyed hot tub after doing a lot of sightseeing all day. It was a bit hard not having hot water in winter but overall it was great.

Miu, Auckland, New Zealand

 

August 2021

A fantastic place to stay, peaceful and relaxing. Definitely worth it. Will definitely be back

Robert

 

July 2021

A beautiful stay, exactly as prescribed. Lovely romantic getaway, private and unique. Excellent communication and support from the host.

Melissa

 

July 2021

Jacks Hut is like no other. Such a incredible little gem! Everything you need is right there, and easy to access. Perfect for a little get away!

Nancy

 

July 2021

This place is an absolute gem, great views, cozy warm hut, kitchen with everything in there, toilet shower, even a swing! You could really tell Angela and Dave put effort into this place. It was raining a lot and very windy during our stay, and there was also a power cut but we got cared for it all and still enjoyed it very much. The tub was probably my favourite:) thank you!

Stellar, Auckland, New Zealand

 

July 2021

Hi Guys, We thought your stay was incredibly well thought out. From marshmallows to crumpets for the fire pit, to arriving to a lite hot tub. It was so great to discover all the wonderful surroundings. The deer, water views and privacy were outstanding. We’d love to do it again. Fee n Phil

Phil, Auckland, New Zealand

 

July 2021

Fantastic getaway for the weekend - outdoor bath is great & everything there you need.

Rebecca, London, United Kingdom

 

July 2021

We had a pleasant stay at Jack's Hut. Angela and David looked after us well and they warm and welcoming. Would definitely recommend this place! Stunning view from there too.

Jaya, Auckland, New Zealand

 

July 2021

Beautiful location looking over the lake. Felt remote yet still close enough to the attractions of Rotorua. We had a lovely stay.

Megan

 

July 2021

It was a very cozy cabin with an amazing view. My partner and I loved to sit outside on their swing to eat our meals. The fire pit was great and the smores we made were delicious. Definitely recommended.

Uzair, Auckland, New Zealand

 

June 2021

Jack’s Hut is an absolute piece of paradise! I would highly recommended booking a stay here for an opportunity to have some quiet time away. The hut has all you need!

Trista, Hawera, New Zealand

 

June 2021

Hosts are a lovely couple who are very friendly and hospitable. Hot tub was lovely.

Alex

 

June 2021

Jack’s Hut provided us with a cosy experience. Wood fired hot tub, roasted marshmallows and a swing chair with a view. Great communication from the owners, super clean and comfy. We will 100% be back in the near future!

Jeanie, Auckland, New Zealand

 

June 2021

Stunning location by the lake. The hut is cozy and has an amazing view. The outside bath was amazing and lovely hosts!

Anna

 

June 2021

Was a great stay recommended for a couples retreat and an unwind for busy life.

Fred

 

June 2021

Such a lovely place to stay! There were so many nice touches around the hut and brilliant hosts. Would recommend

Madeline, England, United Kingdom

 

June 2021

Relaxation at its best, this little heavenly place has it all! The highlight is definitely soaking in the hot tub under the stars and the stunning view from the swing bench. The bed is comfortable and the cabin extremely warm and cozy! The hosts, Angela and Dave were warm, friendly and hospitable without intruding on our privacy. We will recommend Jack's Hut to all our friends.

Sean, Hamilton, New Zealand

 

May 2021

Jack's Hut is awesome. A great place to stay, with all you need.

Kendyll, New Zealand

 

A wonderfully relaxing place to stay, Views are stunning no matter what time of day. Outdoor hot tub was lovely and the brazer was warm and cosy to sit outside. Would definitely recommend and we will hopefully get to stay again.

May 2021 - Carolyn, Tauranga, New Zealand

 

Very peaceful stay! Great spot to unwind and chill out!

May 2021 - Sam, Tauranga, New Zealand

 

It was beautiful to wake up in the morning to excellent views and animals in such a secluded and peaceful part of the world. The hot tub and fires are a great addition to this property.

May 2021 - Chris, Ballarat, Australia

 

Absolutely great quirky spot to stay. me and my partner had a fantastic weekend here.

May 2021 - Jonjo, England, United Kingdom

 

A beautiful location! Slow mornings with coffee and a good book on the swing chair, evenings with a glass of wine and excellent food beside the brazier, and sitting in the tub under the Milkyway were highlights. Angela went the extra mile to cater to our dietary requirements. We hope to be back again.

April 2021 - Philippa, Okaihau, New Zealand

 

This place was AMAZING!

April 2021 - Stephanie, Auckland, New Zealand

 

Such a lovely place to stay! Beautiful views, surrounded by native bush, amazing birds, and very cute farm animals.

April 2021 - Abbie, Wellington, New Zealand

 

We had an amazing stay at Angela and David’s. They were very hospitable, quick to reply, and had the hot tho heated for us upon arrival. The location is wonderful! Would stay again :)

April 2021 - Mirka, Pennant Hills, Australia

 

We absolutely loved our stay here. The hut is rustic and cosy. The view and the hot tub were highlights of our stay, Angela and Dave were very helpful, Dave set up the kayak for us at short notice, thank you! We had an amazing stay, perfect for a couples getaway for a couple of nights! 

April 2021 - Kate, New Zealand

 

Incredible getaway - highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away from it all. Amazing and welcoming hosts and a wonderful location.

April 2021 - Andrea, Auckland, New Zealand

 

This is a rare find! Our first experience of ‘glamping’ and it was truly magical. It’s rustic but luxurious! So many special touches that should be kept secret so they delight you as they did us. The view is unparalleled. This was the perfect place for a grown-up weekend stay without the kids. So much better than a cookie-cutter hotel room. Lots to do locally but if you wanted to just hang out and walk/ swim from the Hut that’s that would work too. We will definitely be recommending this to all our couple friends!

March 2021 - Kiri - February 2021

 

We highly recommend jacks hut. Beautiful surroundings. The hosts have put a lot of thought into this. It’s a must stay!

Phillipa - January 2021

 

If you want a total escape and a ‘hut’ experience but still with some comforts - then this is your place. Jack’s Hut comes with a story. You can read about Jack Mackay’s life while sitting on the balcony in a swing chair watching the deer and fawn run around with Lake Tarawera and Mt Tarawera as the backdrop. A super breakfast was a lovely surprise, especially the marshmallows there to toast on the fire pit - not to mention the fire heated hot tub. With the lake walking distance and amazing world renowned mountain bike trails a pedal away - you can unleash your inner bush man or enjoy a peaceful coffee while reading your book on the deck.

Fairleigh - January 2021

 

Stunning little spot. Can’t recommend it highly enough. Absolutely loved our stay. Thank you!

Philippa - January 2021

 

“If you want a total escape and a ‘hut’ experience but still with some comforts - then this is your place. Jack’s Hut comes with a story. You can read about Jack Mackay’s life while sitting on the balcony in a swing chair watching the deer and fawn run around with Lake Tarawera and Mt Tarawera as the backdrop. A super breakfast was a lovely surprise, especially the marshmallows there to toast on the fire pit - not to mention the fire-heated hot tub. With the lake walking distance and amazing world-renowned mountain bike trails a pedal away - you can unleash your inner bushman or enjoy a peaceful coffee while reading your book on the deck.”

Andrew - December 2020

 

“Amazing place to stay!”

Junko - December 2020

 

“We really loved our stay here at jack’s hut! One of the best place we have ever stayed at via air b&b. Stunning views, amazing hot tub, cozy little cute room...we would love to come back again! Thank you very much Angie and Dave:)”

Ronnie & Graeme - December 2020

 

Omg, thank you for our stay! We absolutely loved Jack's Hut. We absolutely loved everything and definitely will be staying again. It was magical.

Jay - December 2020

 

“My partner and I were lucky enough to stay in Jacks hut for two nights. We were treated to one of the romantic hideaways we have ever experienced. Nestled on the hillside over looking the lake and a paddock of deer. Dave had the wood fire hot tub lit for us before we arrived so we could jump straight in and enjoy a glass of wine and relax in the tub. The fire was ready to go with skewers and marshmallows to add to the experience. Both Dave & Angela were fantastic hosts recommending local experiences for us to do and respected our privacy. I would 10/10 recommend any couple to stay and get away from the city for a romantic retreat!”

Natalia and Alex - December 2020

 

“What an incredibly beautiful, peaceful and charming place to spend the weekend. The space was very cozy, full of thoughtful touches, the view from the deck was spectacular. Who doesn’t enjoy an outdoor shower while admiring a shimmering volcanic lake? Thanks so much for the great stay!”

Te Aiorangi - December 2020

 

This place is amazing!! From the actual hut itself to the lodge grounds surround it, the lakes nearby and awesome scenery, beautiful birds flying about. It was truly like a fantasy! Thank you Angela and David for the beautiful stay. It was the most wonderful spot to have a little romantic getaway.

Thomas - November 2020

 

Jacks Hut was amazing. Can’t fault any of our stay. From the view, to the hot bath tub and the hut, we enjoyed every minute of our stay! Thank you so much.

Elesha - November 2020

 

Such a beautiful place to stay! Comfortable bed, stunning views, just a delightful place to be.

Maria - October 2020

 

The cutest hut! This place is cosy, I stayed by myself and it was perfect. All you need is available and the lovely owners just up the hill.

Ben - October 2020

 

Perfect.

Hamish - October 2020

 

A very unique place! So quaint and quiet, so many beautiful finishing touches and things that made the stay relaxing and enjoyable. Dave and Angie were superb with communication and offers of help. For anything we needed. Firebath was a delight!

Marina - September 2020

 

We stayed here over the weekend, and it was one of the best Airbnb's we have stayed at. Lovely, thoughtful touches throughout the entire space. The hot tub was exceptional and the views stunning. We would recommend this place to travelers and would love to come back again!

Kate  - September 2020

 

An amazing long weekend away. Enjoyed all the personal touches to the hut and beautiful views even in the rain.

Sammy - September 2020

 

You need to stay here, you won't regret it! Lovely hosts, wonderful place and beautiful spot.

Brook - September 2020

 

Awesome spot. Amazing hot tub.

Emma - September 2020

 

We couldn't recommend this place enough. It exceeded our expectations: beautiful, functional, romantic, warm, private. Go see for yourself!

Stacey - September 2020

 

Amazing stay. Such a special spot.

Stefan - August 2020

 

We had a lovely stay and the location by the lake is absolutely gorgeous. Had a bit of bad luck with the weather and it rained most of the time but sitting in the hot tub in the rain and watching the little lambs playing on the grass was fantastic. Quick responses from the hosts to any of our questions and definitely look forward to coming back for another visit.

Becky - August 2020

 

Gorgeous location and accommodation. Very unique and relaxing! Would highly recommend to anyone looking for something a little bit different.

Judith - August 2020

 

We absolutely loved our weekend at Jack's Hut. Everything was sparkling clean. The outdoor bath amazing, brazier and marshmallows, bbq and a comfy, warm bed wrapped up in a delightful little hut. Friendly hosts and great communication with little extras included. Watching the deer play at dusk was lovely and the newborn lambs an added bonus.

Mathew - July 2020

 

Our stay could not have been better. The place itself was clean and well set up with the sunrise views each morning completely stunning. We'll be recommending this one to friends.

Greg - July 2020

 

Cosy hut in a great location! Perfect for a weekend getaway. Great hosts and helped set up the spa pool in our absence.

Tim - July 2020

 

Such a beautiful little spot! Had a great weekend at Jack's Hut, would definitely recommend for a nice getaway,

Leena - June 2020

 

This tiny hut is very cute but I can only judge it from my experience. Our hot tub did not heat up, even after 3 hours of burning the wood - my partner is also quite experienced in dealing with fires and it just wasn't working. the primary wood for the tub was soaking wet. The wifi wasn't coming up for either of us so we struggled to contact the host. The hosts were nice enough to offer us their personal tub the following morning. But overall I believe there could have been better communication and information about the tiny hut, especially because it was quite expensive. Maybe you'll have better luck than us!

Isobel - June 2020

 

We loved our stay here for a long weekend away. The hut was cosy and cute, the deck has lovely views and the outdoor bath tub was the cherry on top! Would definitely recommend staying here.

Breanna - June 2020

 

Wonderful spot with gorgeous views. Lovely sitting by the brazier and enjoying the hot bath under the stars.

Nicole - June 2020

 

This oasis was just perfect for a couples getaway. The hut is warm, cosy and comfortable with everything you need. The wood-fired spa with lake view was absolutely perfect. Can't wait to stay again.

Jordan - June 2020

 

WE LOVED OUR STAY SO MUCH! The tiny home has everything you need and was a beautiful lil home away from home for the weekend! The hot tub was amazing on arrival! We can't fault anything! Absolutely loved our stay! We will definitely be back soon!

Marion - May 2020

 

My friend and I had an amazing stay at Jacks Hut. It is a perfect getaway for summer days as well as colder days. When we went there it was pouring rain but we still enjoyed it very much despite the fact that toilet, shower and kitchen are outside. The bath tub helps a lot and adds a great touch. I highly recommend that place!

Scott - May 2020

 

Fantastic location and hosts very accommodating!

Alexandrea - May 2020

 

This place is a hidden gem! Decided to come here after level 2 lockdown was announced in time for our anniversary. Dave and Angie were great hosts and had everything that we needed to make the stay enjoyable. The bedroom hut is cosy and warm and the bathtub under the stars is something else. Everything was nice and tidy too. Worth every penny!

Anna - March 2020

 

What a great little slice of paradise! If you are looking for some rest and relaxation you won't be disappointed.

Kieran - October

 

An amazing secluded spot with everything you need for a relaxing getaway. Stunning views and the woodfired hot tub was perfect! Angie was very accommodating and provided helpful tips about local attractions suitable to our needs. We will definitely be recommending this spot to our family and friends.

Naomi - October 2020

 

We loved our stay at Jack's Hut and especially enjoyed the use of the hot tub and the log fire. There were lots of thoughtful touches and made for a lovely 1st wedding anniversary getaway!

Kate - September 2020

 

Incredible and very magical space. Thank you for the stay. Truly amazing

Jenny - August 2020

 

Beautiful secluded romantic getaway! Such a relaxing weekend and the hosts are so lovely! Definitely will be back!

Zoe  - July 2020

 

We had a fab time at this gorgeous cabin with great hosts. Everything we could have wished for... even in the rain! Thank you both :)

Kirsten - July 2020

 

We had such a wonderful holiday here! The view is really special, and Angie and David have added so many thoughtful touches. The pre heated hot tub on our first night and the swing seat were definite favourites! The hut is really cosy with a huge comfy bed and its history is really cool. Thank you so much for a lovely stay.

Logan - June 2020

 

Picture perfect location with an awesome host! Have already recommended it to many friends =)

Freek - March 2020

 

Nice place with beautiful views on the stock, the lake and the mountains. The Hut itself is modest, but the outdoor veranda and kitchen/toilet/shower/tub make it quite spacious altogether. Friendly and helpful hosts.

 

Original text